Recipes and other things vegan – Veganistische recepten en meer

I recently found a very appetizing looking recipe on VegWeb.com by Caroline Disko from Ontario, Canada, for pasta shells with walnut stuffing. My mouth was watering when I read the recipe, so I decided to make it myself. However, I could not find the jumbo pasta shells for the original recipe anywhere here in Amsterdam (I probably haven’t looked well enough yet). So I used regular pasta shells of much smaller size, which were not that easy to fill with stuffing. So I decided to mix the walnut stuffing with these smaller pasta shells, rather than actually stuff the shells one by one. Here’s the recipe that I came up with. I made it last Sunday for my boyfriend and my mother and they were thrilled with its taste.

Ingredients (for 2 persons)

  • about 250 gram walnut pieces
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 portobello mushroom
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 handful fresh parsley
  • 10 fresh basil leaves
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 200 gram pasta shells (jumbo if you can find them)
  • 2 jars of pasta sauce (the kind you prefer, I used Spagheroni piccante)

Directions

  1. Chop the walnuts, celery, mushroom and garlic roughly and put them in a food processor together with the parsley, basil, oil, salt and pepper. Blend them until smooth.
  2. Meanwhile cook the pasta shells according to the package directions. Also heat the pasta sauce.
  3. When the pasta shells are done, add the walnut mixture to them and mix it all very well. If you have been able to find jumbo shells, then when the shells are cool enough, use a spoon to fill each shell with the stuffing. Lastly, put the mixed pasta on a plate and pour the pasta sauce over them. Enjoy and let me know how you liked it!

Pastaschelpen met walnootvulling

Kortgeleden vond ik een erg smaakvol lijkend recept op VegWeb.com door Caroline Disko uit Ontario, Canada, voor pastaschelpen met walnootvulling. Ik begon te watertanden bij het lezen van het recept, dus besloot ik het zelf te gaan maken. Ik kon echter nergens hier in Amsterdam jumbo pastaschelpen vinden, waar het oorspronkelijke recept voor bedoeld is (waarschijnlijk heb ik niet goed genoeg gezocht). Daarom heb ik normale pastaschelpen van veel kleiner formaat gebruikt, die niet zo makkelijk individueel te vullen waren. Uiteindelijk besloot ik dan ook de walnootvulling gewoon te mengen met de pastaschelpen. Hier is het recept waar ik op uit ben gekomen. Afgelopen zondag heb ik het gemaakt voor mijn vriend en mijn moeder en ze waren verrukt over de smaak.

Ingrediënten (voor 2 personen)

  • ongeveer 250 gram walnoten
  • 2 selderij stengels
  • 1 portobello champignon
  • 3 knoflook tenen
  • 1 handvol verse peterselie
  • 10 verse basilicum bladeren
  • olijfolie
  • zeezout
  • vers gemalen peper
  • 200 gram pastaschelpen (jumbo als je ze kunt vinden)
  • 2 potten pastasaus (van je voorkeur, ik heb Spagheroni piccante gebruikt)

Bereidingswijze

  • Snij de walnoten, selderij, champignon en knoflook grof en stop ze in een blender of mixer samen met de peterselie, de basilicum, de olie, het zout en de peper. Maak er een gladde substantie van. De staafmixer bleek bij mij het beste daarvoor.
  • Kook ondertussen de pastaschelpen volgens de aanwijzingen op het pak. Verhit ook de pastasaus.
  • Wanneer de pastaschelpen gaar zijn, voeg dan het walnootmengsel toe en meng het erg goed door elkaar. Als je jumbo schelpen hebt kunnen vinden, laat deze dan wat afkoelen en gebruik een lepel om elke schelp apart te vullen met het walnootmengsel. Leg de schelpen met het walnootmengsel op een bord en giet de pastasaus erover heen. Geniet ervan en laat me weten hoe je het vond!
Leave a Reply

